How to ensure Facebook privacy to friends only

Online privacy is a growing concern, and especially with many young surfers on the web posting all kinds of personal information on Facebook especially, you want to be sure it is secure so only friends can see your pictures, likes, dislikes, etc.  There are many hoaxes being passed around via Facebook claiming how to handle it, and it’s not true.

First thing you want to do is set all your past content so only friends can view it.

Click the triangle beside the Home button in the top right corner of the website.

1. Click Privacy settings
2. Scroll down and click “manage past post visibility” beside “Limit the audience for past posts.
3. Read the disclaimer then click the button “Limit old posts”
4. Done

Now that you’ve cleared up all your old posts in a single click (ok, more than one click, but at least you didn’t have to click on thousands), there’s something else you need to keep in mind.

Even though, you have your default post level set to “friends”, for some reason, for some time, Facebook had the default still going to Public.  It appears to be fixed now, but you need to always check, every time you post something, is it going to friends only, public or do you want some other special predefined group to see it.  If you are not already doing so, get in the habit of checking before you hit post and keep your info private.  Take the time and keep yourself safe.

If you found this useful, look up Twinbytes Inc on Facebook and “Like” us.  Thanks 🙂